Why I Actually Enjoy Being Single

Am I the only one that actually enjoys being single?

Probably.

I don’t know what it is but I find that when I’m in a relationship, my insecurities…well…

intensify

because I now have someone in my life whose opinion of me is of utmost importance. As much as I hate to admit it, I sort of care what my man thinks of my hair today or what I’m wearing. Men are visual creatures after all…shouldn’t I want to be very pleasing to his eyes?

So now that I actually have someone I want to impress, I probably spent an extra 10 minutes in front of the mirror wondering if I’m wearing the perfect outfit…

Together

Me when I’m in a relationship

But when I’m single, I’m out the door in 5 mintues…tops! That’s because if I think I look good, that’s all that f***ing matters. There’s no one to impress but myself.

Me when I'm single

Me when I’m single

And the incessant phone calls! God I can’t stand it. Apparently being in a relationship means you need to be glued to the phone everyday talking about…nothing. Absolutely nothing. But what do you expect when you talk on the phone every. single. day. You’re bound to run out of things to say.

All I want to do is indulge in watching my favorite reality TV shows and watch idiots be idiots without having a hot phone in my ear with my boyfriend talking about all the oh-so-intriguing things that happened to him that day.

Love&Hiphop

Me when I’m watching TV and my boyfriend yaps away

And since I’m someone who loves going out dancing and having a good time, relationships are not easy. There are so many boundaries that can be crossed when a taken woman is at a club, bar, or lounge that she might as well stay home!

So while I’m hugged up with my boyfriend binge-watching some show with a ridiculously slow plot and highly complex characters, I can’t help but daydream about how much fun I could be having right now dropping it like its hot to Fetty Wap!

Dubbing

Me dropping it like its hot.

My youthful, carefree spirit is very much a part of me and I’m only in my 20’s. There’s nothing remotely alluring about being in a relationship at this point. Maybe when I’m older, but certainly, most positively not now.

But don’t get me wrong. There are times when I do wish I were in a relationship, but only for ridiculously selfish reasons.

Like when I’m too short to get something that’s situated way too high…

haqha

Or when I spot a big scary bug and I’m too much of a wuss to kill it myself…

Spider

Or when I could use some help carrying groceries from my weekly trip to the market.

Tree

But…y’know, I could just get a stool to get that jam, and spiders are actually cool since they eat other bugs, and I could use the work out to tone up while I carry those heavy grocery bags.

But hey! To each their own. Some people love the company of a significant other, I enjoy my own :).

One thought on “Why I Actually Enjoy Being Single

Leave a Reply

