My Law of Attraction Exercise: Speaking Things into Existence & Making Dreams a Reality

You won’t believe this guys!

Just last week, a day after coming from a week-long vacation in Turks and Caicos, I had a day off from work and I decided to join my mother in watching “The Real,” a popular daytime talk show in the U.S.

Untitled

And then suddenly, I heard Jeannie Mai talking about an article I wrote on MadameNoire.com! But it didn’t hit me that The Real was about to feature my article until THIS happened!

MadameNoire

OMG! THAT’S MY NAME!

They’re featuring MY ARTICLE ON THE REAL!

Gasp

I think I sat there SHOCKED like … what just happened?! Here’s the clip if you guys are curious:

The reason why I was SUPER shocked was because I manifested this into reality! 

Being a big fan of The Real, I noticed that they often feature and mention writers on their show and discuss the subject matter at hand. And I thought to myself, I am going to be the next one mentioned on their show!

I became a lifestyle editor at MadameNoire.com at the beginning of this year, and I hit the ground running publishing engaging, entrancing articles for readers. Soon enough, a lot of them gained a lot of traction but this one, in particular, caught the attention of “The Real”: “He Asked Me To Be His Side Chick.”

Bottom line? The Law of Attraction works.

But I find that people misunderstand, exactly, how The Law of Attraction works. People erroneously believe it’s just “Oh, I’m going to think positively and everything will magically fall into my lap.” And if you’ve ever read “Think and Grow Rich,” a highly venerated book in the Law of Attraction realm, that is DEFINITELY NOT what the Law of Attraction is about.

Yes, it IS about thinking, but a better word is “intention.” And then following through with it. In “Think and Grow Rich,” Napoleon Hill tells us to “think” AND come up with a plan to manifest it. He tells us to “think” AND emit positive thoughts and vibes because it will increase our confidence which, in turn, helps to make our dreams come true.

That’s what happened here. I had an intention. I wanted to be acknowledged as a writer on “The Real.”  I said it out loud: “I am going to be featured on ‘The Real’ this year.” I became a lifestyle editor for a popular blog, MadameNoire.com. And sure enough, after putting in the effort in churning out badass articles, it HAPPENED.

So here, I will manifest every single thing I want and NO ONE is going to stop me from attaining my dreams!

1. I Will Get a Well-Paying Job at BuzzFeed by September 30, 2017

BuzzFeed

I have applied to BuzzFeed about 20 times!

Gotten three phone interviews.

One in-person interview.

I’ve reached out to BuzzFeed recruiters on LinkedIn.

I’ve even had an article of mine PUBLISHED on BuzzFeed.

Still no job at BuzzFeed … YET.

Am I going to give up? NO! Yes, there ARE times I felt defeated. There are times when I wonder, “what did I do wrong? The interview went so well! What did they see in others that they didn’t see in me?” (I was left hanging after my in-person interview and never told why I lost out on the job).

Some people say, “You win some, you lose some.”

I say, “You win some, you LEARN some.”  I now have more knowledge about what questions they will ask – both on the phone and in-person. I now have nothing to fear. Just be prepared and KILL it.

I will get a job at BuzzFeed by September 30th 2017 – even if it kills me. BuzzFeed has an incredible platform where it allows its writers to be creatively free and it’s a culture I’ve craved for a long, long time, professionally. I know if I put in the work, I WILL get a job at BuzzFeed.

AND NOT ONLY THAT, I will be a beloved employee who is known for putting out high-engagement content with LOTS of views. Then, within six months or so, I will be promoted to a managerial position.

2. I Will Move Out of My Folks House By March 2018 in a Beautiful NYC Apartment and Comfortably Pay Rent!

apartment

I respect my parents a lot, and I love them so much, but at the same time, I find that their conservative attitudes and rigid mentality truly hinder me in life in trying to find myself and TRULY experiencing life.

NEED TO GET OUT OF HERE! If I am going to be successful, I cannot have them breathing down my neck telling me that I should just sit at home, twiddle my thumbs, find a job online, and things will fall in my lap.

need to network. I need to meet new people. Travel. Invite friends over. I just need my own place so that I can expand my social network.

3. Someone Will Find My Travel Post and Pay Me a Premium Salary for Travel Blogging

Caribbean

I’ve discovered a love for traveling after my first big trip in a long time – Turks and Caicos.

Not only do I have a passion for traveling, but I love to immerse myself in the local culture to help other newbie travelers navigate their way through foreign lands. I just hope someone believes in me enough to give me a chance and show them that I would be an incredible travel blogger – whether it’s recording my experience on video or writing about it on a travel site.

Here’s my travel guide to Turks and Caicos if you haven’t read it yet.

4. I Will Have $96,000 Sitting in My Bank Account By December 2018 Through My YouTube Animation

YourCapitalOneBankAccount

I love to animate! And I see how many views that popular animators on YouTube get – it’s A LOT! It’s a very time-consuming job, but the pay out is worth it. YouTube pays about $2,000 per million views.

So if I can start to attract millions of views by the end of each week for my animation videos, I can make about $8,000 a month. (Popular animators often bring in millions of views in JUST one or two days, so this isn’t too much of a stretch).

If I start to gain traction for my animation videos by December 2017 of this year, at a rate of $8,000 a month, I can make $96,000 by December 2018.

This will help me FINANCE my parents’ retirement and allow them to live comfortably. I will also use this money to DONATE to one of my co-workers who is struggling to make ends meet – she recently lost her husband and because she’s older, she feels ageism will prevent her from scoring a job. I want to give her some bonus money to help her spirits back up!

5. I Will Find Someone Who Truly Loves Me – Keloids and All

keloid6

I have a skin condition where I have clumps of overgrown collagen developing all over my body (keloids). And it sucks. And for a long time, I felt unloveable – and I still do.

I hope someone will come around that would make me change that perception of myself.

These will be their qualities:

  1. Drop dead gorgeous
  2. Hilarious – they will have me rolling on the floor laughing
  3. Can have thought-stimulating conversations
  4. Adventurous and ambitious
  5. Generous and not afraid to open up
  6. Has a Family I Get Along With and Can Get Along With My Family, Too

6. Jesse Williams and I Will Be Together

I know, I know! It’s improbable – but not impossible. I have the biggest crush on Jesse Williams. His looks aside, I love how he thinks (I’m a total sapiosexual). And he recently called it quits with his wife. While my heart goes out to him, call me delusional, but I think this is life pushing him towards me! LOL.

This is what’s going to happen. I will run into Jesse Williams at an NYC cafe this summer, he will strike up a conversation with me, we will both realize that we’re both intellectually compatible, he will take me out on a date, we’ll fall in love, and live happily ever after.

Hey! Let a girl dream! It will happen okay!

7. Job Interviews Will Be a Breeze for Me

JobInterview

What often saddens me about job interviews is that I have the SKILLS to do the job, but because I do not have the articulation of Joel Osteen and the wit of Jimmy Kimmel, employers will usually go for the funny guy or girl who knows how to answer all the questions.

And it’s like, well GREAT, they can be the office comedian, but can they buckle down and do the job like I can? NO.

So right now, I pledge that I will no longer allow nerves or anxiety get the best of me in interviews! I am getting to know them as much as they’re getting to know me. And they need me just as much as I need them. I’ll work on my articulation, wit, and persuasion to win over my employers!

8. An Old Flame Will Reach Out to Me And Honestly Tell Me Why He’s No Longer In My Life

MeHim

I am never one to cling to guys – ever. But there’s this one guy that I met in college 7 years ago that I just can’t shake from my head. He chased me, I rejected him. But then I chased him, he rejected me. We decided to be friends. But then, long story short, he sort of disappeared from my life and I want to know why.

He offered so much wisdom and knowledge to me. He was the only one in the world that could truly make me laugh. I just … I want to know why he just walked away from me.

He will text me or reach out to me on Facebook to bring me truth and closure.

9. I WILL ATTRACT ETERNAL HEALTH, HAPPINESS, AND A LONG LIFE FOR ME AND MY FAMILY

offended

For one, I just want someone to find a damn surefire cure for getting rid of keloids for GOOD – something inexpensive and non-invasive! And on top of that, I never want to see a doctor or dentist EVER in my life – literally ever. And I won’t!

I wish that for myself and my parents.

10. I WILL ALWAYS HAVE FUN TRAVELS! I WILL VISIT AT LEAST TWO DIFFERENT LOCATIONS EACH YEAR WITHOUT TAKING A HIT ON MY FINANCES

airplane

Traveling is a huge passion of mine and there’s no way in hell I’m going to let money hinder that – money will HELP me.

11. My Hair WILL Grow Down to My Butt By the End of This Year

LongHair

I WILL have long, healthy hair by December 2017!

12. I Will Win a One-Year Supply of Naked Juice Smoothies!

Naked

I cannot tell you how much I LOVE Naked juice smoothies. OMG. This is real! This is not a sponsorship. I LOVE the Mighty Mango Naked Juice Smoothie.

It’s refreshing, it’s healthy, has no added sugars, it’s 100% juice …

But the downside is that I cannot exactly afford to splurge on Naked juice during my supermarket runs. SO I speaking into existence that I will win a contest where I will win a one-year supply of Naked juice smoothies – specifically Mighty Mango!

I will be on a Naked commercial thanking them for the one-year supply, and do spectacularly well in their ad campaign! Yay! 🙂

13. This Blog, The Melody of Melanin, Will Jump to Super-Stardom After It Is Shared By a Celebrity Who Loves My Content!

Adobe Illustrator

I’ve been typing away at The Melody of Melanin for years now and I am so proud of the progress I’ve made so far with thousands of visitors a month, but there’s always room for advancement.

I want to see the Melody of Melanin become the new lifestyle blog destination for everyone and anyone looking for ways to naturally improve their lives physically, spiritually and mentally. I will become a target for sponsors who want to advertise their lifestyle products to my audience! Cha-ching!

Most importantly, I know that you, dear reader, can make your dreams come true by making your goals known to the universe. You WILL follow through with everything and your desires will manifest into reality. ❤

4 thoughts on “My Law of Attraction Exercise: Speaking Things into Existence & Making Dreams a Reality

Leave a Reply

